Poznań is Poland’s fifth largest city, located in the west of the country. Established in the 10th century, the original settlement was on the island of Ostrów Tumski, which sits between branches of the Warta River.
Friday, 4th July 2014
View from an upper storey window or balcony across the roofs of Poznań’s historic Old Town neighbourhood, which dates back to 1255. A courtyard down below. In the middle distance, the main tower of Poznań Fara church (also known as St Stanislaus Church). This large church was built between 1651 and 1701 in Baroque style.
Looking along Ludgardy street on the west side of the Old Town. To the right is the monument to the 15th Poznań Lancers Regiment. This regiment fought the Bolsheviks in 1920 and also during the Second World War as part of the Poznań Army. The original monument was unveiled in 1927, but was later destroyed during the Nazi occupation. A replacement was erected in 1982. The stone monument consists of a stone column topped with a soldier on horseback slaying a dragon using a lance. Further to the right part of the Franciscan Church can be seen. This Baroque church was built between 1674 and 1728. Also in view, away in front, is a crenellated stone tower, part of the 13th century Royal Castle. The castle was largely destroyed during the Second World War but has since been partly rebuilt.
Another part of the yellow-painted Franciscan Church visible to the left of this picture. The exterior of the church is relatively plain, while the interior is much more elaborate. In the centre, a more modern building housing a clothes shop.
The south side of Old Market Square (Stary Rynek). This large square is located in the Old Town neighbourhood. There is a substantial block of buildings situated in the centre of the square, including the Old Town Hall, which is considered by locals to be the centre of the city. The sides of the square all measure approximately 140 metres (460 feet) in length. In front is a statue of St. John of Nepomuk dating from 1724. St. John of Nepomuk (c.1345 to 1393) is the saint of Bohemia. It is said that he was drowned in the Vltava River, on the orders of King Wenceslaus of Bohemia, because he refused to divulge details of the queen’s religious confessions. The statue was built in the hope St. John would protect the city from flooding.
Under a long colonnade running down the front of a building on Wodna street. The street runs east-west from the south-west corner of Old Market Square.
Tony next to a near life-sized model of a bull standing outside a restaurant.
In Old Market Square looking towards the front façade of the Old Town Hall. This impressive building has a substantial tower in the centre of its roof along with three domed turrets along the front. The edge of the roof has ornamental crenellations. Lower down there is an ornately decorated three-storey arcade loggia (a covered gallery within the building but open to the square in front). There is a central clock with a display of mechanical fighting goats above (not clearly visible in the photo). The building was originally built in the 13th century after the founding of the medieval town in 1250. It was rebuilt in its present form between 1550 and 1560 by Giovanni Batista di Quatro. It served as the seat of local government until 1939 and today houses the city museum.
View down a side street (Wielka street) heading into the north-east corner of Old Market Square. The central tower of the Old Town Hall visible above. Underfoot are large cobble stones (setts).
At the north-east corner of Old Market Square. Part of the Old Town Hall is in view along with an adjoining row of former merchants’ houses, dating from the 16th century, and now painted in a range of colours and patterns. Many of these narrow but quite tall buildings (mostly three storeys) now contain souvenir shops.
Again in Old Market Square with the old town Weighing House (Waga Miejska) on the left. It is located behind the Old Town Hall in the centre of the square. The Weighing House was first built in 1532 to 1534, reconstructed in 1563, and later demolished as unsafe in 1890. It was then replaced by a Renaissance-style “New Town Hall”, which was used by the city government until it was heavily damaged in 1945. It was again rebuilt in its former style in 1950–1960, based on surviving prints, and is now used for weddings and other events. It is a two storey building with a very high gable roof.
View along the north edge of Old Market Square. A block of outdoor café and restaurant tables in front. The building immediately to the right (only the ground floor visible) is the Mielżyński Palace. It dates from 1795 to 1798 and is in the classicist style. The three-storey front façade is relatively plain.
The front door of the Mielżyński Palace. It has a simple geometric design with rectangular panels on the two wooden doors. Like the rest of the building, it is classicist in style, drawing on the architecture of ancient Greece and Rome.
Looking into Old Market Square with the side of the Weighing House directly in front.
Old buildings down the west side of Old Market Square painted in various subdued colours. In front, and just visible, one of four fountains that stand in each corner of the square. This one depicts the Roman god Mars.
Freedom Square (Plac Wolności) with Freedom Fountain directly in front. Freedom Square is a large rectangular shape (85 by 205 metres) and is located just west of the historic Old Town. The Freedom Fountain has two 10-metre long metal wings raising over a shallow pool. A footbridge passes between the wings through the centre of the circular pool. The fountain was completed in 2012.
Saturday, 5th July 2014
View across the east side of Old Market Square. On each side of the square are tall rows of former tenement houses (kamienice), many of which have been colourfully painted and converted into restaurants, cafés and bars. In the foreground, a pair of horses pulling a cart are emerging from the left, and to the right a row of outdoor café tables.
Another view of the former merchants’ houses in the centre of the square showing the various colours and patterns in which they have been painted. The ornate Old Town Hall part visible to the right.
The tower of the Old Town Hall dominating the centre of the square. The tower is topped by an eagle
The west side of Old Market Square. In the foreground, another of the square’s four fountains. This one has a bronze sculpture of Neptune in the centre. It was unveiled in 2004 replacing an older lost fountain.
Another view of the Old Town Hall and surrounding buildings in the centre of Old Market Square.
Tony and Tatiana outside the large main doorway to Poznań Cathedral (officially named the Archcathedral Basilica of St. Peter and St. Paul). The pair of metal doors are embossed with Biblical scenes. The cathedral is located on Ostrów Tunski “Cathedral Island”, north-east of the city centre, and the location of the city’s original settlement.
The lower part of the cathedral’s red brick front (west) façade. A cathedral first stood on this site in the second half of the 10th century. The church was subsequently damaged or destroyed and then rebuilt several times over the following centuries. The last destruction was caused by a serious fire in 1945 during liberation of the city from the Germans. It was then restored in Gothic style and reopened in 1956.
Full view of Poznań Cathedral’s front façade. A pair of substantial towers on either size and the entrance in the centre. Tony and Tatiana just visible away in front of the entrance doorway.
Tony and Tatiana outside another entrance on the south side of Poznań Cathedral. Wooden doors with a white and cream rendered surround.
Another view of Old Market Square during the evening. Lots of people dining at outdoor tables.