The Channel Islands (Norman: Îles d’la Manche, French: Îles Anglo-Normandes or Îles de la Manche), are 8 inhabited islands in the English Channel. They are British Crown Dependencies, located between the south coast of the United Kingdom and northern France. Jersey and Guernsey are Bailiwicks. They are considered the remnants of the Duchy of Normandy and are not part of the United Kingdom.
St Helier, capital of Jersey
4th May 2013
St Thomas’ Church. Tony and Tatiana at the foot of steps leading to the main doorway. This Catholic church opened in 1885. It is the largest church on the Channel Islands.
View along King Street. This pedestrian street is part of St Helier’s main shopping area.
Looking the other way along King Street.
A path heading towards the harbour.
View of a sandy beach, St Aubin’s Bay.
An amphibious vehicle that ferries visitors across to Elizabeth Castle, which is located on a rocky islet in St Aubin’s Bay. There is also a causeway that can be walked at low tide. Both the ferry and causeway start from the Esplanade (West Park slipway) in St Helier. The distance to Elizabeth Castle from here is 1 kilometre (0.6 miles).
On board the amphibious vehicle heading to Elizabeth Castle.
Tony and Tatiana walking up the slipway at the castle. The amphibious vehicle behind. Elizabeth Castle dates from the 16th century when the increasing use of cannon and gunpowder meant that the previous stronghold at Mont Orgueil became insufficient to defend the island from attack.
Tony and Tatiana at an old gate from the slipway through the outer walls into the castle grounds.
The inside of the gate from the slipway.
A path through the castle grounds. An early 19th century building on the left. This was originally a barracks hospital.
View along the defensive stone outer walls, with the rocky seashore below, and St Aubin’s Bay beyond.
Tony and Tatiana by the outer wall.
A large rusty gun built into the wall of a bunker. Probably dates from the German occupation during the Second World War.
Another view of the gun.
Looking towards the Upper Ward: A stone keep sitting on top of a circular raised area of rock, known as The Mount. This is the highest part of the castle, and also the oldest, with construction starting in 1594.
Lower Ward: A row of canons pointing through a crenellated wall.
Another smaller type of canon pointing out to sea through a gap in the battlements.
Tatiana at the Lower Ward.
Tony and Tatiana at a short tunnel through the walls.
An historic canon inside a museum within the castle grounds. Tatiana in front.
Tony and Tatiana outside the Officers’ Quarters, now an exhibition space. Built in 1735.
View across the Lower Ward to the former Canteen building, again dating from 1735.
Tony and Tatiana inside a Second World War German bunker.
Outside the concrete bunker.
Tatiana and Tony standing inside a gate through the walls to the Lower Ward. A wooden bridge leading to the gate in front.
More defensive walls and earthworks in the castle grounds.
Tony and Tatiana standing inside a very narrow opening in the ramparts.
Again Tony and Tatiana on the ramparts.
Tatiana and Tony in Liberation Square with the Liberation Sculpture behind them. The square and sculpture were created in 1995 to mark the 50th anniversary of Jersey’s liberation from Nazi occupation. The sculpture depicts a group of islanders raising the Union Jack.
Tatiana by one of the Liberation Sculpture figures – bronze of a child looking up at the flag being raised.
The side of Liberation Square.
Royal Square with a gold gilded statue of King George II on a granite plinth. The statue was erected in 1751.
5th May 2013
A path leading up to Mont Orgueil Castle, which is located on a headland at Gorey, on the eastern side of Jersey. This site has been fortified since the prehistoric period. Construction of the stone castle began in 1204 to protect the island after French King Philip II Augustus took mainland Normandy from King John of England. It was Jersey’s primary defence until the development of cannons rendered the castle vulnerable to attack from the adjacent hill of Mont Saint Nicholas.
Tatiana at the gateway into the castle.
Tony and Tatiana at the castle entrance.
Inside the castle: a ramp leading up from the entrance.
Defensive walls inside the castle.
A small formal garden inside the castle grounds.
Tatiana sitting on a wall. A grassy slope up to the high castle walls behind.
A stone archway with a carving of a shield (presumably a coat of arms) in the wall on the upper right side.
A passageway with steps leading through the castle walls.
An area of grass enclosed by walls and battlements. A metal sculpture of Sir Hugh Calvely dressed in armour and on horseback in front. He was a 12th century English knight and commander, who took part in the Hundred Years’ War.
A metal sculpture called the ‘Wheel of Fortune’: a blindfolded woman holding a wheel. Inside a room within the castle.
A map of Jersey with a raised outline.
The castle ramparts.
Excellent view of Gorey Harbour and the coastline beyond from the top of the castle.
A lookout tower built on the castle by the Germans during the Second World War. It is built of granite and blends in with the older walls and towers around it.
Tony and Tatiana by a canon on the castle walls.
6th May 2013
Batterie Lothringen, Noirmont Point. This defensive installation was built by the Germans during World War II at a strategic headland overlooking St Aubin’s Bay. The large metal device in front is a rangefinder. It was used to determine how far away ships and other target objects were. Two steel observation domes can be partially seen just beyond. There is a large command bunker beneath.
Tatiana at Noirmont Point. Down below La Tour de Vinde (or Noirmont Tower) can be seen. This small defensive tower was erected between 1808 and 1810 to command the approaches to St Aubin’s Bay. The tower is painted black and white to serve as a landmark for sailors. Since 1915 it has also housed a light that flashes every 12 seconds at night.
View from La Corbière: a headland located at the south-western point of Jersey in St Brelade. La Corbière lighthouse can be seen in the middle distance. It is built on a tidal island joined to the mainland by a causeway at low tide. The lighthouse tower is 19 metres (62 feet) high. It was lit for the first time on 24th April 1874.
Close-up of Tony and Tatiana on the beach.
Tatiana on the mostly sandy beach. A few rocks are scattered.
Looking towards the sea. A number of canoes on the sand in front.
View along Jersey’s north coast. Probably Bonne Nuit Bay in the foreground and Giffard Bay beyond. Rocky cliffs along the coast.
Bonne Nuit Harbour. This small harbour is located on Jersey’s north coast.
Lots of small boats in Gorey Harbour. The harbour wall in the background.
Another view of Gorey Harbour.
Back in St Helier. Paved area with lots of small fountains at Millennium Town Park.
Another fountain. Millennium Town Park.
7th May 2013
Weighbridge Place. An open space opposite Liberation Square and near Jersey Museum and Art Gallery. Markets are held here.
A pedestrian area outside Jersey Museum and Art Gallery. A fountain in front and a bronze statue of a centaur ridden by Eros just visible to the right.
Still outside Jersey Museum and Art Gallery: a pond with plants and a water feature that includes metal birds with water coming out of their mouths. A seating area beyond.
Steam clock. The clock is built into a full-scale replica of the middle section of a 19th century paddle steamer called the Ariadne. It was unveiled in 1997 and was originally one of the world’s few steam powered clocks. It was converted to an electrically powered mechanism in 2005 due to high maintenance costs.
The side of the steam clock with a small square and seating area around it. It is located at the North Quay of the harbour.
The other side of the steam clock.
Another view of the Liberation Sculpture.
Tatiana sitting at the side of a fountain.
The same fountain: it includes a decorative lion’s head with a stream of water coming out of the mouth.
8th May 2013
Tatiana between a pair of male mannequins. Jersey War Tunnels, near St Laurance. Photo taken in the former German World War II underground hospital that was built by prisoners of War. It’s now a museum.
St Peter Port, capital of Guernsey
9th May, Channel Island World War II Liberation Day, one day later than liberation day in Europe.
Smith Street. Pedestrian shopping street decorated with bunting for Liberation Day festivities.
High Street: the main shopping street.
The side of St Peter Port parish church (also known as the Town Church). Parts of the church date from the 13th and 14th centuries. Extensive restoration took place in the 19th century. Located by the harbour.
Doorway into the church.
Passage by the side of the church.
A stall selling food at the side of the church. Part of the Liberation Day festivities.
Lots of boats, mostly yachts, in the harbour.
Another view across the harbour. On the far side stalls and many people taking part in the Liberation Day celebrations.
Tatiana by a life boat on the harbour side.
Tatiana at the foot of steps decorated with Union Jacks.