Media Slovakia, September-October 2017 Bratislava is the capital and largest city of Slovakia. Evening of Tuesday, 26th September 2017 Statue of two naked girls leaning on a post box on Obchodná Ulica (Obchodná Street). The postbox is real and usable. Obchodná is a pedestrian street in the city centre, containing mainly shops, cafés, bars and restaurants with trams running regularly along its length. Another photo of Tony and Tatiana examining a post box with statues of two naked ladies sitting on top. Tony and Tatiana outside the Slovak Pub, an iconic pub-restaurant on Obchodná Street. Sitting at a table in the Slovak Pub. Tony with Tatiana, Viktoria and Livia. Viktoria and Livia are two medical students from Eastern Slovakia, living in Bratislava, Tony met Viky through couchsurfing. The pub has a wooden interior with the heads of stuffed animals on the walls, plus various paintings and decorations. Bronze statue of a Napoleonic soldier leaning on the back of a bench. Located in Hlavné námestie (Main Square). The square is located in the Old Town and it is often considered to be the centre of the city. Close-up of Tony next to the head of the Napoleonic soldier. The soldier is wearing a large helmet covering the top half of his face. The Roland Fountain (also known as the Maximilian Fountain) lit-up in the semi-darkness. The fountain was built in 1572 following water shortage during a devastating fire. At the base there are three stacked circular pools of water. The highest pool is raised on a pedestal. Above this on top of a column, and not clearly visible in the photo, is a statue of King Maximilian II portrayed as a knight in full armour. King Maximilian II, the king of Royal Hungary, ordered the statue’s construction. The base of the Roland Fountain, including shallow water in the bottom pool, and water spraying from gargoyle heads above. A restaurant in the south-east corner of Hlavné námestie. To the left, the Baroque Jesenák Palace can also be seen. This grand house was built for Baron János Jesenák in the 19th century replacing an older house. Today the building is home to the Greek embassy. The Old Town Hall (Stará radnica) at the north-east side of Hlavné námestie. Originally Gothic in style, but is now a mixture of Baroque, Neo-Renaissance and Neo-Gothic. It dates from the 14th century and is one of the oldest surviving stone buildings in Bratislava. It includes a clock tower standing prominently on the left side when looking from the square. The tower was built in approximately 1370. The Old Town Hall now contains the Bratislava City Museum, the oldest museum in the city. A suit of armour outside a restaurant in Hlavné námestie. Tony and Tatiana standing on a gold compass embedded in the pavement. The distances to well-known cities are shown around the edge. Tony is standing close to the label for London and Tatiana opposite. The above photo and the next two were taken by Viktoria. Tony and Tatiana on Obchodna street. A tram approaching behind. Tatiana and Tony sitting on a bench under the tree in semi-darkness. Here Tony and Tatiana said goodbye to Viktoria. At the south-west corner of Hlavné námestie. People heading along Sedlárska, a street leading into the square, with a green laser beam shining overhead from the far end of the street. Ganymede’s Fountain at the east end of Hviezdoslavovo námestie (Hveizdoslav’s Square). Only the lower part of the large fountain is in view. It depicts an ancient story about a boy Ganymede who was abducted by Zeus’ eagle and brought to the home of gods, Olympus, in order to serve them nectar. The fountain dates from 1888. Bronze child figures can be seen around the inner edge of the bottom basin. They are holding four of the most typical types of fish that live in the Danube: perch, carp, catfish and pike. The historic Slovak National Theatre building can partly be seen behind. View along Michalská street with Michael’s Gate lit up at the far end. Another decorative green laser beam shines overhead from Michael’s Gate down the length of the pedestrian street. Michael’s Gate is the only preserved gate in the fortified walls of the Old Town. Built in about the year 1300, its present shape is the result of Baroque reconstructions in 1758, when a statue of St Michael and the Dragon was placed on top. The tower above the gate stands at 51 metres high. Michael’s Gate from outside the Old Town. An arched passage runs through the centre of the gate’s tower. Wednesday, 27th September 2017 View towards the Baroque-style Trinity Church (the full name is the Church of St John of Matha and St Felix of Valois). The Trinitarian Order started construction of the church in 1717 and it was sanctified in 1727, although work on the interior continued into the first half of the 18th century. The front façade is curved inwards with the main entrance in the centre. It is located in Župné námestie square close to Michael’s Gate. On Michael’s Bridge located just outside Michael’s Gate. The present bridge was built in 1727 replacing an older wooden structure. The bridge crosses the remains of a moat, part of the historic fortifications. A stone statue of St Michael the Archangel can be seen at the side of the bridge. View through a smaller gate, known as the barbican, located at the end of Michael’s Bridge and close to the outer side of Michael’s Gate. This gate has two entrances. The smaller entrance was believed to have been used by the hangman. A legend says if a couple walks through this gate, they will be separated within a year! Heading along Baštová, a narrow cobblestone street running west from the inside of Michael’s Gate. Looking down Kapitulská Street, a cobbled medieval back street on the west side of the old town. Old houses line the street: some of them are derelict and crumbling, while others are restored. This area of the old town feels very old and gives an impression of a town in medieval times. At the south of Kapitulská Street with the back of St. Martin’s Cathedral (Dóm svätého Martina) in front. The west side of St. Martin’s Cathedral. At glass and concrete barrier separating the cobbled street from a busy main road immediately along side. The front of St. Martin’s Cathedral (only the lower part is visible). This large Roman-Catholic Cathedral is located in the Old Town close to the River Danube and the New Bridge. It is fortified gothic in style and was consecrated in 1452. It is the largest and one of the oldest churches in Bratislava. It is known especially for being the coronation church of the Kingdom of Hungary between 1563 and 1830. Its 85 metre (279 foot) tall spire dominates the city skyline. A small square immediately to the south of St. Martin’s Cathedral. To the right wreaths can be seen in front of the Holocaust Memorial. The memorial, which is mostly out of view, was erected in 1996 on the site of the Neolog Synagogue demolished in 1969. It commemorates the 105,000 Holocaust victims from Slovakia. Path alongside the north end of UFO Bridge. The bridge is also called the New Bridge (Nový most) or the Bridge of the Slovak National Uprising (Most SNP). It crosses the Danube River near St. Martin’s Cathedral. It is 430 metres (1,413 ft) in length and was completed in 1972. The bridge has an observation deck and restaurant that sits atop a tower to which are attached the bridge’s supporting cables. It took Tony and Tatiana roughly 10 minutes to cross and find the tower’s entrance! Looking south from the UFO Bridge’s observation deck. The cityscape lit up in the evening. The top of the tower is 84.6 metres in height. Thursday, 28th September 2017 Another view of Michael’s Bridge with the smaller gate, known as the barbican, in front. A souvenir shop with a display of marionette string puppets. The puppets are a mixture of human and animal characters. Along side is a larger model of a witch with a pointed hat and holding a broom. This is what can get photographed when pictures are taken by a blind person! Tony next to a suit of armour that is standing outside a jewellery shop. The south inner side of Michael’s Gate. In view, the large arched gate through the tower, with a coat of arms above. The coat of arms belongs to Holy Roman Empress Maria Theresa, under whose rein the tower was rebuilt in 1753–58. In front of the tower a sightseeing minibus is parked. This red-painted minibus is in the form of an historic vehicle dating from the early 20th century. A wooden model of Michael’s Gate, displayed in the Museum of Arms, inside St Michael’s Tower. Tony next to an old sword inside the tower museum. Vista south from the balcony on the sixth floor of Michael’s Tower. The view includes wide Michalská street immediately below, the 85 metre (279 foot) tall spire of St. Martin’s Cathedral to the right, and further away, the UFO Bridge tower. Looking west from Michael’s Tower balcony towards Bratislava Castle. The castle sits on a rocky hill close to the Danube river. The castle is a very large rectangular building with towers at each corner. View east from the balcony over the Old Town. Towards the right, the Franciscan Church can be seen with its spire covered with scaffolding. The Franciscan Church was consecrated in 1297, making it the oldest existing religious building in the Old Town. Tony touching an abstract sculpture located on Michalská Street. It is a large irregularly-shaped piece of granite. Parts are rough rock while others are flat and polished. A metal cone is attached to one face. It was created by Slovak sculptor Oto Bachorík in 2003. Another view of the strange sculpture. The Roland Fountain in Hlavné námestie (Main Square). A carved male head can be seen on the side of the second pool. An interesting Art Nouveau metal doorway that belongs to the Palace of the Hungarian Discount and Exchange Bank on Hlavné námestie. A pair of doors with a mixture of angular and curved geometric patterns including two stylised human-like faces above rectangular windows. Looking from Primate’s Square (Primaciálne námestie) east along Klobucnícka street. In the right foreground, Tuscan columns belonging to the Primate’s Palace, after which the square is named. The New Town Hall located on the north side of Primate’s Square. Built in 1948 this four storey structure replaced a Jesuit monastery building dating from the 16th century. The Primate’s Palace on the south side of Primate’s Square. This spectacular Classicist style palace is currently the office of the Mayor of Bratislava. It was built between 1777 and 1781 by architect Melchior Hefele for Archbishop József Batthyány. Tatiana and Tony in front of the Fountain of St. George located in the courtyard of the Primate’s Palace. This mid-17th century fountain is, apparently, inspired by local legends and depicts St. George on horseback killing a three-headed dragon. The Fountain of St. George showing one of the dragon’s heads and the octagonal pool beneath. Looking through a passageway from a second courtyard inside the Primate’s Palace with the Fountain of St. George visible at the other end in the first courtyard. The second courtyard of the Primate’s Palace. In front, a decorative stone pillar, topped with an urn inside an alcove. Tony at the back of the St. George fountain. Leaving the Primate’s Palace through the main entrance with Primate’s Square in front. Part of the New Town Hall visible opposite. Another view of Primate’s Square. A linden tree can be seen in the centre, which was planted in 1896, marking the 1000th anniversary of the founding of the Hungarian state of which Slovakia was then part. View of the Old Town Hall with its clock tower above. It is located between Primate’s Square and the adjoining Main Square (Hlavné námestie).