Wednesday, 19th April 2017
Busy street with Kaminarimon Gate (“Thunder Gate”) behind. This is one of two large entrance gates that lead to Sensoji Temple. It is 11.7 metres high and 11.4 metres wide. The current gate dates from 1960 with the previous one being destroyed by fire in 1865. The first gate here was built in 941.
Nakamise-doori (Nakamise street). This long, busy pedestrian street has many stores offering Japanese treats like fried manjuu, ningyoyaki and imo youkan. Also various souvenir shops. This historic area is popular with foreign and Japanese tourists.
Tony and Tatiana on the approach to Meiji Shrine (Meiji Jingu). The shine is located in a forest that covers an area of 70 hectares (170 acres). In the background there are barrels of sake (rice wine), which have been donated to the shrine. The barrels are in a long row stacked six high. 23rd April.
Tony, Tatiana with a statue of Hachiko. Hachiko is a famous Tokyo dog who found notoriety from waiting daily at Shibua train station for his master to return and continued this vigil for several years after his master’s death. 23rd April.
Capital city of Miyagi Prefecture.
25th April 2017
The ruins of Aoba Castle (Sendai Castle) are located on a plateau overlooking the city of Sendai on the opposite bank of the Hirose River. The site is protected by cliffs to the south and east and by a deep forest to the west. It has been destroyed and rebuilt several times due to earthquakes and fire. However, the castle was destroyed completely on July 10, 1945 by the United States during the Bombing of Sendai during World War II.
Hikkaido Prefecture, North Japan
8th May 2017