5th July 2013
A long narrow public garden that runs parallel to the sea front promenade (Loch Promenade). In front is a memorial to David Kewley: an employee of the Isle of Man Steam Packet Company and a volunteer in the Lifeboat and Coastguard Services. He is credited with saving thirty people from drowning. Following his death in 1904, this memorial was paid for by public subscription.
Now looking the other way towards Douglas Harbour. To the right, the round central part of the Sea Terminal building can be seen, with a tall narrow concrete spire protruding from its centre. This construction is sometimes known as the ‘lemon squeezer’ because of its shape. The Sea Terminal is the main arrival and departure point for all the island’s passenger and car ferries.
A man and woman in period dress, taking part in some sort of historic re-enactment. This was one of the many events taking place to celebrate Tynwald Day, the Isle of Man’s national day, which is on 5th July (unless it is a Saturday or Sunday, when it moves to the following Monday). The location is Tynwald Hill, located in the centre of the island. The island’s legislature, the Tynwald, meet here to proclaim the new laws created during the preceding year, as well as other ceremonial events. Thousands of people turn out to watch and take part.
Tatiana and Tony outside the Royal Chapel of St John the Baptist. The chapel is located close to Tynwald Hill and also the village of St John. On Tynwald Day, members of the Tynwald and other dignitaries take part in a church service here. Within the church there are reserved seats with name plaques for members of both chambers of the Manx parliament. The present chapel dates from around 1849, but replaced an older church.
Tony touching the Millennium Stone. This was erected behind the Royal Chapel of St John in 1979, the 1000th anniversary of the establishment of Tynwald, the Manx Parliament. The foundation stones come from every parish of the Isle of Man. The Tynwald claims to be the oldest continuously operating parliament in the world.
Tatiana and Tony by a statue of Sir William Hillary (1771 – 1847). Hillary was a soldier, author and philanthropist, best known as the founder of the Royal National Lifeboat Institution in 1824. The statue is at Douglas Head, a headland, which overlooks Douglas Bay.
The harbour wall and beyond St Mary’s Isle (also known as Conister Rock), a partially submerged reef within Douglas Bay. The building upon the rock is known as The Tower of Refuge. It dates from 1832 and was erected on the orders of Sir William Hillary following several shipwrecks on the semi-submerged rock. He wanted a refuge for survivors until help could arrive. It was designed to look like a castle.
7th July 2013
Tatiana touching a life-sized model of a man in medieval dress sitting at a table and holding a piece of bread. Part of a historic display at Castle Rushen, a medieval castle, located at Castletown, the Isle of Man’s former capital.
Tony in a metal pillory. A framework with holes for securing the head and hands: historically these were used to restrain a person for the purposes of public humiliation or flogging. Taken at Castle Rushen.
Looking along a path heading to the door of Peel Cathedral (also known as the Cathedral Church of Saint German). The church was built between 1879 and 1884. It was made a cathedral by Act of Tynwald in 1980.