Capital of Croatia.
Friday, 14th September 2012
Tony and Tatiana in Ban Jelacic Square. This is the central square of Zagreb, located in the downtown pedestrian zone. The square is named after Josip Jelacic (1801-1859) who was ban (or governor) of Croatia between 1848 and 1859. He is credited with advancing the cause of Croatian statehood. A large statue of Jelacic on horseback can be seen in the background.
Tony and Tatiana by Nandusevac Fountain in the east part of Ban Jelacic Square (Trg Bana Jelacica).
View across Ban Jelacic Square.
A temporary market in a marquee in the middle of Ban Jelacic Square. It is selling a range of goods including fruit, vegetables, nuts, plants and toys.
Outside the marquee. Two trams passing by behind: central Zagreb has a good network of trams with several lines running through the square.
Looking the other way across Ban Jelacic Square.
Another tram and everyday activity in Ban Jelacic Square.
Heading up hill along a narrow street lined with shops off the north side of Ban Jelacic Square.
Steps leading up to the historic Gradec district. Gradec is a quiet and leafy part of the city with narrow streets and small squares containing many historic and government buildings.
Tony and Tatiana at the Kamenita Vrata (or Stone Gate), which was originally the main east gate into the town. It dates from the 13th century.
Tatiana inside the Stone Gate. The gate, which is actually more of a short tunnel, contains a shrine where an icon of the Virgin Mary is displayed inside a niche protected by a metal grill. The icon is believed to have miraculous powers, apparently due to it surviving a fire in 1731 perfectly preserved. Behind Tatiana is a wall covered with stone plaques. These contain messages of thanks from people whose prayers have been answered.
Tony and Tatiana below a statue of Dora Krupic holding a key and box. The statue is inside an alcove built into the outer wall of the Stone Gate. Dora Krupic is a fictional character from the novel ‘The Goldsmith’s Gold’ written in 1872 by August Senoa.
View along the street beyond the Stone Gate heading into Gradec. The Sabor (or national parliament building) can be seen in the top left.
Heading up hill at the side of the parliament building towards St Mark’s Square (Trg svetog Marka).
St Mark’s Church in the centre of St Mark’s Square. The original church on this site was built in the 13th century. Most of the exterior of the present church was rebuilt in the late-19th century in Gothic style following an earthquake in 1880. However, the bell tower survived the earthquake and dates from 1841. The roof is covered with brightly coloured tiles forming the coat of arms of Croatia.
Tony and Tatiana in front of the church’s door.
Carved stonework around the door.
Ban Jelacic Square crowded with people in the early evening.
Outside the front of Zagreb’s cathedral with its tall twin spires. The present façade was built by Viennese architect Hermann Bollé in neo-Gothic style following the devastating 1880 earthquake. The original cathedral was built between the 13th and 15th centuries.
Tony and Tatiana standing in one of the Cathedral’s doorways. An elaborately carved stone arch above.
Looking across a road and tram line towards the Croatian National Theatre.
The front of the Croatian National Theatre.
A bronze sculpture called “The Well of Life” in Marshal Tito Square (Trg maršala Tita) in front of the national theatre. The sculpture is by Ivan Meštrovic and dates from 1905. It features a circle of nude figures around a well.
A close-up of two of the heads of figures that make up the “The Well of Life” sculpture.
Another view of detail on the sculpture.
A view of the Cathedral looking from Jelacic Square. The sky above is filled with dark cloud suggesting imminent rain.
A large statue of King Tomislav (crowned 925) on horseback. Located in Tomislava square (or park) just north of the railway station. The large Art Pavilion building can be seen at the other end of the square.
Tony and Tatiana in front of the King Tomislav statue.
A fountain in the centre of Tomislava square/park.
Tony and Tatiana by the fountain.
The fountain again, looking towards the yellow-coloured Art Pavilion, which was built in the early 20th century. It hosts regular exhibitions.
Tony and Tatiana by a fountain in leafy Zrinjevac park. This is part of a long horse-shoe shaped line of parks and squares south of the city centre.
Buildings in neoclassical style along the side of Zrinjevac park.
Tatiana by a large smooth granite ball – a street artwork known as ‘The Grounded Sun’. It was sculpted by Ivan Kožaric in 1971 and moved to it’s current location on Bogoviceva street in 1994. This is a café dominated pedestrian street off Jelacic Square. Taken in the early evening.
17th-19th September 2012
Large doorway with a carved-stone surround, leading into the 14th century Franciscan monastery. It is located in Dubrovnik’s old town, near Pile Gate, at one end of the central street known as the Stradum (or Placa).
Decorative metal doorway in the old town. Double doors with moulded heads at the top of each.
A side street off the Stradum. It is narrow with a steep flight of steps. Washing hanging above from the windows of houses.
Inside St Savior’s Church looking towards the main altar. This church was built between 1520 and 1528. It is joined to the Franciscan monastery alongside.
A side altar inside St Savior’s Church.
St Savior’s Church looking away from the main altar. A balcony incorporating an organ at the back.
On the Stradum looking towards St Savior’s Church and the Franciscan monastery.
The inside of Pile Gate. Crowds of visitors entering and leaving the walled old town.
Tony and Tatiana with a good view straight along the Stradum behind them.
Tony and Tatiana outside the doorway of St Savior’s Church.
Onofrio’s Large Fountain. This is the first thing people encounter when entering through Pile Gate. It was built in 1444 by Neapolitan architect Onofrio della Cava. Water spouts out of stone heads on each of the fountain’s 16 sides. There is a done in the middle.
A closer view of three of the fountain’s stone heads.
Luža Square at the other end of the Stradum looking towards the Sponza Palace. The palace was originally the city’s customs house and mint. Today it is open to the public and houses art exhibitions, a memorial room displaying photos of those who died during the 1991-2 siege, and the Dubrovnik State Archives.
Orlando’s Column in the middle of Luža Square. This stone column was built in 1418 and features a knight holding a sword and shield. The Croatian national flag is flying atop a pole attached to the top of the column.
Tony and Tatiana in front of Orlando’s Column.
St Blaise’s Church, located at the back of Luža Square. It is built in Baroque style and was completed in 1714.
The exterior of St Blaise’s Church. Stone statues perched on the roof.
Onofrio’s Little Fountain at the side of Luža Square. The fountain was built between 1440 and 1442. Like Onofrio’s Large Fountain it was built to supply clean water to the city.
A stone column in the middle of the fountain. Water coming out of a series of faces carved into it.
A closer look at carving on Onofrio’s Little Fountain. There are a series of cherub-like figures around the base.
Tony and Tatiana in front of Onofrio’s Little Fountain.
A large doorway off Luža Square. Above it there is a stone head depicting a soldier wearing a helmet.
Looking along a street off Luža Square towards Dubrovnik’s Cathedral at the far end.
Tony and Tatiana at the foot of steps up to the entrance of St Blaise’s Church.
The main altar inside St Blaise’s Church.
A side altar dedicated to Saint Silvan.
Old metal doorway into the Sponza Palace. It is inscribed with the word “dogana”, meaning “customs”, as this was formerly the customs house. Above the inscription is a coat of arms.
Tony by steps and a doorway at the side of St Blaise’s Church. Early evening.
Evening view across crowded Luža Square. View of a tall bell tower at the side of the square. This was first constructed in 1444, but was completely rebuilt in 1929. Only the bell inside remains from the original. There is a large clock face on the side.
Tony and Tatiana at Pile Gate. There is a man dressed as an old-style guard at the side.
The exterior of Pile Gate. Ceremonial guards at either side of the doorway.
Evening. A band playing in the street.
The foot of the bell tower in Luža Square. An archway leading towards the harbour at one side.
Tony and Tatiana up on the city walls. View along the marble-paved Stradum below. The bell tower can be seen at the far end. A lengthy stretch of the walls are open for tourists to walk along. They offer excellent views of the old town and the surrounding area.
View from the walls to the square and road outside of Pile Gate.
Bokar Fort seen from the city walls.
Tony looking down from the walls.
Tony and Tatiana. Nice view of the city walls climbing up the rocky cliff behind and the sea below.
View over the old town. Various towers and other fortifications can be seen in the city walls. Also, Mount Srd in the background, standing at 412 metres in height.
Tony and Tatiana together with other tourists climbing up steps on the route around part of the city walls. A small harbour below with Bokar Fort at the far side.
Looking out at Bokar Fort. The sun low in the sky reflecting on the sea.
Tony and Tatiana looking down on a private garden from the walls above.
By a canon on the walls. View in the distance of the tree-covered island of Lokrum, a 15-minute boat ride from the harbour in the old town.
Tony and Tatiana touching the canon. A picturesque view of the coastline in the background.
A small turret built into the walls.
View of a café located on rocks perched above the sea, immediately outside of the walls.
A sailing boat passing by below. Lokrum island again visible in the distance.
Tony and Tatiana sitting by another canon.
Tony and Tatiana in Gundulic Square (Gunduliceva Poljana). A statue of poet Ivan Gundulic (1589-1638) stands in the middle.
Tatiana at the side of St Blaise’s Church. Behind a man is sitting atop some steps playing a guitar.