All photos taken by Tony’s sister Annette.
25th April 2013
Tony standing under an orange tree in Syntagma Square in central Athens. Syntagma Square is named after the Greek constitution (syntagma) that was proclaimed from the balcony of the royal palace that overlooks the square on 3rd September 1843. The palace is now the Greek parliament building.
Changing of the guard ceremony taking place in front of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Two guards in traditional dress are standing facing each other. The guards are wearing red berets, black tunics, and also black pleated fustanellas, which are similar to kilts. They are carrying bayonets.
The front façade of the Zappeion, which incorporates a row of tall Corinthian columns. The building was constructed between 1874 and 1888. It was used during the 1896 Summer Olympics as the main fencing hall. Today it is a conference and exhibition centre.
Tony at the Panathenaic Stadium. This ancient stadium once hosted the Panathenaic Games, in honour of the Goddess Athena. It originally sat in a natural hollow between the hills of Agra and Ardettos. It was constructed in marble in 329 BC. During the second half of the 19th Century the ruins of the stadium were excavated and subsequently rebuilt to host the athletics at the first modern Olympic Games in 1896. Unlike modern stadiums, it has a long narrow hairpin-shaped design, with seating around three sides.
Looking down into excavated remains of a Roman bath complex. The remains were discovered during construction of an air shaft for Athen’s metro system and they were opened to the public in 2003-4. Located on Amalias Avenue near the National Gardens and the Temple of Olympian Zeus.
A closer view of the Temple of Olympian Zeus. Only 15 of the temple’s original 104 Corinthian columns are still standing. This colossal temple was dedicated to Zeus, king of the Olympian gods. Construction began in the 6th century BC, but it was not completed until the reign of the Roman Emperor Hadrian in the 2nd century AD – some 638 years later.
Odeon of Herodes Atticus: a stone theatre on the south-west slope of the Acropolis. It was built in 161 AD by Greek aristocrat Herodes Atticus in memory of his wife. The theatre was restored in 1950 and today it is regularly used for musical performances.
In the foreground, a small arch in the ruined walls of the theatre, and beyond, a view towards the neighbouring Mouseion Hill. On top of this wooded hill sits the Philopappos Monument, an ancient Greek mausoleum.
The Parthenon sitting prominently on the Acropolis. It is the most important surviving building of Classical Greece and is widely regarded as an enduring symbol of Ancient Greece, Athenian democracy and western civilization. Its construction began in 447 BC and it was completed in 438 BC, although decoration of the building continued until 432 BC. From this angle it is partially covered with scaffolding due to ongoing restoration work.
Temple of Athena Nike. This temple sits at a prominent position on a steep bastion at the south-west corner of the Acropolis. Built between 427 and 424 BC, the temple is the earliest fully Ionic temple on the Acropolis.
Looking down to the Areopagus (the “Rock of Ares”), north-west of the Acropolis. In classical times it functioned as the High Court of Appeal for criminal and civil cases. It was from this location that Apostle Paul is said to have delivered the famous speech to the Athenians.
Looking down at the restored Stoa of Attalos. This large covered walkway or portico is located in the Ancient Agora: a public open space, political forum and marketplace. The Stoa of Attalos was built in the second century BC. It was destroyed by the Heruli in AD 267. The present reconstruction was done in the 1950s. The 10th century Church of the Holy Apostles is also in view.
Another view across the Ancient Agora, which is located to the north-west of the Acropolis and bounded on the south by the hill of the Areopagus and on the west by the hill known as the Kolonus Agoraios, also called Market Hill. In this view, the Temple of Hephaestus can be seen in the middle distance.
26th April 2013
The Temple of Hephaestus: this ancient temple, built between 449 and 415 BC, remains standing largely as it was built, including parts of its roof. From the 7th Century until 1834, it served as the Greek Orthodox church of St George Akamates. It is located on the north-west side of the Ancient Agora on top of Agoraios Kolonos hill.
Tony immediately in front of a double doorway into the cathedral. Popularly known as the “Metrópolis”, this is the cathedral church of the Archbishop of Athens and all Greece. Construction of the cathedral began in late 1842 and was completed in May 1862.
27th April 2013
The ancient Temple of Poseidon at Cape Sounion – a promontory located approximately 69 kilometres (43 miles) south south-east of Athens, at the southernmost tip of the Attica peninsula. The ruins comprise 15 standing columns, engraved with many names, including English Romantic poet, Lord Byron. Tony is standing in front holding a Braille guidebook.
28th April 2013
Ancient city of Mycenae, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, located about 90 km south-west of Athens, in the north-eastern Peloponnese. Buses go to the modern town, it is a 5 km walk or a 3-minute taxi ride to the archaeological site. In the second millennium BC, Mycenae was one of the major centres of Greek civilization. The period of Greek history between about 1600 BC and 1100 BC is called Mycenaean in reference to Mycenae.
Inside the igloo-shaped Tomb of Agamemnon. This is the best preserved of the nine tholos tombs discovered at Mycenae. A tholos tomb consists of a circular, subterranean burial chamber, covered with a stone corbelled-arch ceiling. They are entered by a passageway, known as a dromos. These tombs were constructed between about 1510 BC and 1220 BC.
Tony at the doorway into the Tomb of Aegisthus, which is located outside the walls of the citadel. This is another tholos tomb, but less well preserved than the Tomb of Agamemnon. The ceiling is completely gone.
Nafplio or Nafplion is a seaport town, located on Argolikos Bay in the north-east Peloponnese.
29th April 2013
Pavlos Kountouriotis Monument. Pavlos Kountouriotis (9 April 1855 – 22 August 1935) was a Greek admiral and naval hero during the Balkan Wars. He was later elected as the first president of the Second Hellenic Republic in 1924. He became president for a second time in 1929. This marble monument features a bust of Admiral Kountouriotis on a column with a carved lion and anchor at the base.
30th April 2013